Wednesday, September 19, 2007

Sherri Kajiwara CASv President 2007/2008

I am honored to be the new President of the CASv. We have an incredibly talented and motivated Board of Directors, with Past President Jane Irwin taking on the responsibility of Editor of the CASv newsletter, Megan Kalaman, Secretary, Monica Reyes, Vice President, and returning Board Members Alden Habacon, Richard Josephs, Steve Wilson and members-at-large Gloria Smith and Petra Tode-Woods continuing to contribute to this vital organization. We are very pleased with the caliber of programming that the CASv has been able to develop and are very fortunate to have Programming Co-Chairs Sarah Macaulay and Natalia Tkachev (Co-Directors of Blanket Gallery in Vancouver and the Balmoral Gallery in Venice Beach) return with plans for a great year to come. Please join me in welcoming our new board members Joanne Fink (Research & Admin Assistant, Uno Langmann Ltd. Fine Art), Victoria Miachika (President of Artpark Communications), and Siobhan N. Smith (Registrar, Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery).

You can personally meet our wonderful new board at upcoming events and learn more about them on our updated new website designed by Anna Plesset at
All CASv programming, events and resources, are run entirely by volunteers. The CASv does not receive any funding other than the money raised through memberships. I emphatically encourage you to renew your membership as soon as possible so that you can continue to support CASv programming and attend the exciting events we organize exclusively for members. Again, we are making it even easier to renew your membership this year by accepting credit cards (Courtesy of Hill’s of Kerrisdale) and approximately three quarters of the fee comes back to you in the form of a tax receipt!
I thank you for your continuing support of the CASv. It is only through your generosity that we can continue to bring quality contemporary public art programming to Vancouver. Please be sure to fill out the enclosed membership renewal form and invite your friends to join as well. I look forward to seeing you at all at this year’s events.
Sherri Kajiwara
The Contemporary Art Society of Vancouver